DIY Aztec Print T-shirt

Hello everybody,

Today I am going to show you my own version of the DIY Aztec Print T-shirt. I found the idea on the Youtube Channel craftyourownfashion here. Let´s get started!

What you need:

  • a white t-shirt
  • a black fabric marker or permanent marker
  • fabric paint (I used gold) or fabric markers
  • scissors

How to make it:

1. Start by drawing your design onto your t-shirt with a black fabric marker or permanent marker. I tried to copy the one from craftyourownfashion, but there are so many different designs you can choose from.

2. Color in the blank spots with fabric paint or fabric markers. (I only used gold, because that´s what I had on hand, but you can use as many different colors as you want.)

3. Now, follow the instructions of your fabric paint/markers, to make sure the paint stays on  and doesn´t get washed out. (I put mine in the oven for 8 minutes and then ironed my print on the reversed side, because that´s what it said to do before washing it.)

4. Once your paint is dry and secured, it´s time to add the fringe: Decide how long you want it to be and take a washable pen to mark a line across the front of the shirt at the length (from the bottom) you have chosen. (You can also use tape to make the line, in case you don´t have a washable pen.) Then, cut equal strips from the bottom up to your line. (I cut through both layers to make it easier)

5. Stretch out your fringe and wash your shirt to remove the line you made to mark the fringe length.

6. You are done!!!

Tips:

  • Be very careful when painting, since the paint won´t wash out, if you get it in unwanted areas. (You can also tape off any areas to prevent getting paint on them.)
  • Be sure to go through the instructions of your paint/markers good, before using them.
  • My shirt was too long for my taste, so I trimmed off about 2 inches and then made the fringe.
  • When you paint, put down an old table cloth or newspaper and wear an old shirt.

Here is my finished t-shirt:

I really like the way it turned out and I am definitely looking forward to wearing it. It was totally worth working on it for approx. two hours. 🙂  If you make a shirt like this, I´d love to see it.

Saskia

10 thoughts on “DIY Aztec Print T-shirt

Leave a Reply

