Homemade Heart Canvas

Hi guys,

last Saturday I visited a small mall in France. There, I went to this cute small furniture store, which is called “Maisons du monde” and sells home decor, furniture and all sorts of things like that. I really liked their canvas wall decorations. Here are some pictures I took in the store:

This one especially caught my eye:

WP_20150214_10_36_38_Pro

When we were in the store my mom showed it to me and had the idea to make a canvas just like this one ourselves. I loved the idea, because all you needed was a large canvas (which we already had at home) and some pretty hearts. That canvas was what inspired me to make my own and share the idea with you today.

Supplies you need:

  • one large canvas
  • different sized hearts in diverse variations
  • hot glue
  • paint
  • paint brush
  • scissors
  • old table cloth or newspaper (so your table doesn´t get paint on it)
  • optional: ribbon, decorative embellishments, markers, deco tape, letters etc.

How to make your canvas:

1. Mix your paint, if needed, and paint either your whole canvas (like I did) or trace a large heart onto your canvas with a pencil and then fill it in with paint.

2. While the paint is drying get your hearts ready: Mine often had little hooks with ribbon at the top, so you could hang them up. I mostly tied the ribbon into bows or took off the hook completely, if possible. One of my hearts was actually a door hanger, so I just removed its hook with a screwdriver.

3. Next you can add embellishments or whatever else you find to your hearts.

4. Once your canvas is dry and all of your hearts are ready, lay them out on your canvas the way you want them to be. You can try out different ways until you are happy with the way they are.

5. Then glue your hearts to your canvas with hot glue.

6. Optional: You can write something onto the canvas with some markers, like on the one from “Maisons du monde”.

7. Your canvas is done and ready to hang up!

This project probably took me about an hour, but you might need a little more time, depending on how fast your paint dries. I am really happy with how my canvas turned out and I am probably going to hang it up on that empty white wall in my room.

Here is another version I made:

If you decide to make a canvas like this please send a picture to craftfunandmore@yahoo.de. I would love to see what you make. Please also recommend my blog to your friends and family and check by soon again.

Saskia

5 thoughts on “Homemade Heart Canvas

Leave a Reply

